I Made A Human, Now What?

the perils and products of parenting

Legos August 29, 2012

Filed under: entertaiment,ideas,kids,parenting,sanity — gravyhonk @ 2:57 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I took away all the Legos on Friday.  Every single last one of them.

Both of my kids love to play with the Legos.  My oldest builds amazing working things out of them, such as a gumball machine that actually takes change and drops out a gumball, a safe that he can secretly open and close.  My youngest loves to build the actual vehicles and buildings that come in the kits, using the directions to perfectly construct these items.  He also builds other unique items, using the Lego guys to play out scenes, talking to himself in various voices for hours.  It’s a multipurpose toy that I highly encourage the use of.

Until they are scattered throughout the house.  I see dollars all over, under the couches, on the counters, in my bed.  I pick them up, put them in the bucket and then find more.  They are coating the floor of my youngest son’s bedroom and often I step on them.  Which, by the way,  is a rare form of torture that is only known to parents of young ones.

So, on Friday they brought them into my office and dumped the whole huge bucket out on the carpet under the desk.  They wanted to watch youtube videos of how to create new, interesting builds.   None of this I have a problem with.  What I do have a problem with is hours later, when I went to sit down, my feet were buried in Legos, and much like standing on an ant hill, I swear I felt them crawling up my legs and biting my feet.   I asked the kids to clean them up.  They didn’t.  I asked again and said I would give them 10 minutes and started a timer.  My youngest lay on the couch and moaned that it was too hard.  A knock came at the door and it was our neighbor who wanted to talk to my oldest.  He went outside and decided to chat with her instead of cleaning up.

When the timer dinged I grabbed the Lego box and scooped them up all up.  Oldest was still outside.  Youngest was moaning with one eye open watching me do the majority of his job.  When there was a scattering of about 15 Legos left he jumped off the couch and tried to help.  I said to him, “I got this, buddy.  I don’t mind cleaning them up for you; I know it felt too hard.  So, I can do it for you, “  I refrained from sarcasm in my voice, just genuine understanding.  That sentence could come out either way, but I wasn’t aiming for martyr.  I wanted him to know I understood.  Sometimes things overwhelm me too.

So, I then walked into their rooms, calmly, and took all the random Legos off the shelves and floor.  I very carefully placed the built ones on the top of the bucket.  I wasn’t being mean, that wasn’t the point.

Then I put them on the top of the kitchen cabinet.  You can see the whole bin up there, but it is clearly out of reach.  Sure, they could climb up and get it, but they both know that is not a risk they should take.  I explained to each of them that their choice not to clean up the Legos left me no choice but to put the Legos on break.  They will get them back when they can show more responsibility for their toys.

They have asked me each day for the Legos.  My youngest has even dug some out from under his bed, but he is not sneaky, he built something and promptly showed me and I told him they needed to go with the other Legos, it makes no point if they still get some.

When will I give them back?  Probably in a few weeks, when my feet finish healing.

 

16 Responses to “Legos”

  1. Kari Says:

    I completely understand. It is not Legos here but barbies and dolls and many other toys. I have also taken some away for periods of time. I hope they hold onto what they will learn from this, for their sake and yours.

  2. My older son is also crazed about Legos. For the most part, we have him keep it in one area. I hate when Lego is scattered around – uggh. I have stepped on them too many times.
    Good luck to you in terms of keeping them away from children. I hope they learn their lesson.

  3. sheenaeastonwannabe Says:

    While i love Legos, enough is enough. As a parent of a child who loved Legos until he was 15, I completely feel your pain. Stick with you take-away. You won’t regret it!

  4. Heather Langley Says:

    You are so much better than me. I would have used a little sarcasm in there for sure! PS…I have 5 lego guys in my desk from students that I forgot to give back 😦 I told them not to bring them to school!

    • gravyhonk Says:

      Ha! I think you may have some of M’s. He was telling me the other day that you had toys that you never gave back to the students at the end of the year and would I ask for them. I told him no, he had to handle it himself. LOL!

  5. I can only hope my kids are that into their Legos. I hope I can be that tough. My fear is that I’ll be so in love with their creativity that I won’t provide necessary structure and consequences. It’s hard to remember we’re doing them a favor even when they don’t like it.

  6. Megan B.B. Says:

    Ouch! You have way more patience than I ever would.

  7. Funny, funny, funny!!! Actually it’s funnier to read than in real life! This has occurred in our house on many an occasion! I have guilted my children a few times that they have crippled me for life when I have stepped on their toys! haha!!

  8. cathmae Says:

    Love it! Logical consequences delivered without anger. This is real, honest discipline. Good on you, Mom!

  9. Mrs H Says:

    I so know that torture. Mine is currently train track, particularly the bits that stick up like cranes, bridges etc. Bad words are often uttered, trying desperately to eat them to silence so they end up as what I hope is an unrepeatable ‘fuuuuuuu.’.. gotta love them. Firm, calm, loving action showing what matters really does matter. great.

  10. Victoria Says:

    I am a person who lets out an amazing scream when they hurt themselves. For me, I guess it makes the shock of the pain a little duller. Scares my household like crazy when it happens though. I am not looking forward to stepping on Lego!

  11. katesurfs Says:

    I’m cracking up! I still remember stepping on my brother’s legos and majorly hurting myself, or nearly slipping on the kitchen floor on them. I’m so hesitant to get them for my girls! They have duplos… that might be all they get for a loooong time!

  12. JSmith Says:

    This post makes me smile, from ear to ear. “Our” LEGOs (too much money invested to say they are his) are currently locked away. They’ve been there for almost THREE WEEKS. We are currently adjusting the inventory of my son’s room to accomodate his cleaning abilities. When we figure out what load he can manage, I will trade him whatever toys are left for his LEGOs on a trial basis. I’m actually more surprised I’ve stuck with the rule!!

    • gravyhonk Says:

      Brilliant! I have spent many a Saturday afternoon sorting out bedrooms in an effort to hinder the hording tendencies and make the rooms more manageable.

  13. I've Got My Hands Full Says:

    Way to go! I would not have been nearly so calm. Going forward, I learned a great trick for Legos: spread a sheet or picnic blanket over the area where you plan to play, and keep all the Legos on the sheet. When it’s time to pick up, just pick up the corners of the sheet, and ta-da! All the Legos go to the middle and you can pour them into the bucket. Cleaned up in 2 seconds. If your kids are careless about staying on the sheet, you can tell them it’s a game, and all areas outside the sheet are “hot lava.” Any Legos that go over the edge are confiscated.


Leave a comment